The Basics

I am a native of Virginia and love living here! There are not too many areas where you can access the beach, the mountains, the city, and the country within only a few hours. I am an only child, but have a step-family that has given me wonderful nephews and neices with whom I love to spend my time. I have been working with children since I was 13 years old and still love to stimulate my imagination and that of others through play!

Education Background

I received a bachelor's degree in Human Services from Virginia Tech in 2004. Following graduation, I began working for non-profit organizations as a child services coordinator/family case manager at homeless and domestic violence shelters. I earned a master's degree in PreK-6 Education at Old Dominion University in Dec. 2008. Now I am persuing a PhD in Curriculum and Instruction from ODU. I also work as a graduate assistant where I help to research, develop and implement student-written textbook efforts like Social and Cultural Foundations of American Education, Foundations of Education and Instructional Assessment, and Foundations and Assessment of Education.

Foundations team.jpg

Hobbies and Interests

I have been an active member of the American Poolplayers Association (APA) since 2003. I have played in the southwestern, northern, and southeastern regions of Virginia.

Another passion of mine is live music and I have traveled the country to make this happen. I love taking road trips with friends especially on our way to a concert or music festival.