History of Embrun/Saint Augustine-de-Catherine
A Brief Summary of Saint Augustine-de-CatherineEdit
In 1845, a small community called Saint Augustine-de-Catherine was founded as a lumber outpost. This new community was isolated for the first few years of its existence with boats the only means of traveling to and from the town. But bit by bit, the new community grew and it slowly started to connect with the outside world when a road was built from the town to Ottawa. It very slowly started to become self-sufficient. In 1856, the small village decided to change her name to Embrun. Read on to discover more about Saint Augustine-de-Catherine and how it started...