Cookbook:Gelatine

Cookbook | Recipes | Ingredients

Gelatine (also gelatin) is a clear, flavourless substance used as a stabiliser or thickener in many foods. It is derived from the breakdown of collagen from the skin, bones and connective tissues of animals after simmering for an extended period.

Recipes that are likely to use gelatine - especially commercially - are Trifles, Jelly (or Jello), Aspic, Marshmallows, Peeps, and Gummy, or Jelly, bears.

Although there is no vegetarian method of producing gelatin, several popular substitutes exist, such as agar.

Last modified on 2 March 2010, at 22:46